Early Years Foundation Stage

Our EYFS curriculum is based on the British Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. There are seven areas of learning and development that shape educational provision in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting chil- dren’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Staff will also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Knowledge of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We will deliver learning for all of the areas through purposeful play and learning experiences, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities. “Children’s play reflects their wide ranging and varied interests and preoccupations. In their play, children learn at their highest level.”

Through structured play our children will explore and develop learning experiences which help them make sense of the world. They will practice and build up ideas and learn how to control themselves and understand the need for rules. They will have the opportunity to think creatively alongside other children as well as on their own. They will communicate with others as they investigate and solve problems.


How can we help you?